jump to navigation

Marketing, Really? February 3, 2010

Posted by Jason in Daily PM.
Tags: , ,
trackback

A short time ago, I posted a question to LinkedIn.  I thought I was being clear, but perhaps there was some room for mis-interpretation.  Nevertheless, I’m always happy to clarify and get more specific than is sometimes possible in a one-shot question.  What I was not prepared for was the stack of marketing spam.

Coincidentally, I posted two questions at about the same time.  One has garnered zero responses in 22 hours (not too surprising) while the other has attracted five in half that time (one of which I had to report as blatant abuse of the TOS).

I hypothesize that the second one was like honey to ants.  It had all kinds of keywords that the trolls look for: social, marketing, media – and was categorized in the “internet marketing” box.  So far, no surprises.

What really got my attention was that these people who were “selling” or at least strongly suggesting that I use their services had absolutely no idea who I was, who my own market was, or why I would even be interested in them at all.  Really?  You’re selling MARKETING SERVICES!  If you can’t take five minutes to research a prospect, why in the world would I pay you money to do research for mine?

Here is some friendly advice: If you are going to the trouble of answering questions on LinkedIn, at least show some effort.  I don’t even care if it’s a one line response, but at least make it pertinent to the discussion.  Marketing spam merely highlights how poorly you are able to listen, clutters up an otherwise useful conversation, and isn’t really helping your business.  It certainly isn’t helping others to educate themselves.

Comments»

1. David Hall - February 3, 2010

I’m sorry you had this bad experiance! Its ashame people don’t know when, where, and how to market properly. They truely take advantage of the internet and scare away potential customers.

Jason - February 3, 2010

Thanks for your support. Gladly, despite my little rant, I don’t take it personally, nor do I get upset about it. In truth, it’s quite humorous. For that matter, I don’t even think these folks are really “taking advantage” in the sense that they attempt to exploit others. I think they really just don’t understand how to effectively market, whether online or off. They probably do scare people away, but I doubt that they would have been customers anyway.


Let us know what you think!

